2018-2019 Bar Year Board of Governors and Young Lawyers Division Elections | The Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis

2018-2019 Bar Year Board of Governors & Young Lawyers Division Elections Information

Important Dates

 January 4, 2018
 Petition Filing Period Opens at 8:30 a.m.
 Download Sample Petition    BAMSL's Bylaws    YLD's Bylaws
Positions to be elected to Board of Governors:
Vice President
ABA Delegate
(5) Members-at-Large
Positions to be elected to Young Lawyers Division leadership:
(2) Members-at-Large
January 19, 2018   Petition Filing Period Closes at 5 p.m.
March 5, 2018   Electronic Voting Ballots Delivered to Members by Email and Voting Opens at 9 a.m.
Sample Ballot Notice Email   Sample Ballot
Members-at-Large Candidates to be Elected (5 seats for 2-year term)  View Bios
  • Carolyn Husmann
  • Andrew Hartnett
  • Kristine Bridges
  • Andrea McNairy
  • Jason Husgen
  • Christina Lewis Abate

Uncontested positions not appearing on the ballot
Board of Governors
  • President: John Simon
  • President-Elect: Sara Neill
  • Vice-President: Hon. Glenn Norton
  • Secretary: Hon. Carol Jackson
  • Treasurer: Apollo Carey
  • ABA Delegate: Hon. Jason Sengheiser (serving two-year term)
Young Lawyers Division
  • Chair: Andrea Stanley
  • Chair-Elect: Shatrasha Stone
  • Vice Chair: Jessica Courtway
  • Secretary: Laura Gust
  • Treasurer: Allison Gerli
  • Member-at-Large: Jonathan Doss
  • Member-at-Large: Michael J. Dalton, Jr.
March 16, 2018   Voting Ends and all Ballots Due by 5 p.m.
March 31, 2018   Winners must be announced to membership on or before March 31, 2018
April 2, 2018   Annual Meeting
May 1, 2018   2018-2019 Bar Year begins
May 2, 2018   Law Day Luncheon & Installation of Officers
Featuring guest speaker former U.S. Senator Alan Simpson.


Nominating Committee Report

On January 21, 2015, following a November 2014 Town Hall meeting led by then President Joseph A. Frank, the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis Board of Governor's adopted a by-laws change establishing the selection of officers for BAMSL by a Nominating Committee process. The by-laws change provided for the appointment of the nominating committee to include diverse representation from the Women in the Legal Profession Section, Minorities in the Legal Profession Section, Young Lawyers Division, and the Past Presidents Council as well as three Presidential appointments.

In May 2017, BAMSL President Ed Dowd, Jr. appointed Hon. E. Richard Webber as the chair of the 2018-19 Nominating Committee, Hon. Colleen Dolan continued a two-year term and the Hon. Booker Shaw was appointed to a two-year term by President Dowd. Additional committee members include:

Jennifer Visintine — appointed by Women in the Legal Profession Section

Hon. Nicole Colbert-Botchway — appointed by Minorities in the Legal Profession Section

Michael Gunn — appointed to the Committee by the Past Presidents Council

Erica Slater — appointed by the Young Lawyers Division

The committee held their first meeting on June 27, 2017 to review the additional by-laws change and outline the committee charge. A lengthy discussion occurred about the process, the need to assure all BAMSL Members are informed about the change, and to ensure every effort was made to make the committee process open and accessible. Subsequent meetings were held on July 18, 2017, August 22, 2017, and September 19, 2017 with committee interviews of all the candidates conducted on October 17, 2017. The candidates interviewed were diverse, well-qualified and demonstrated a commitment to the mission of the bar association. In carrying out our work as a committee, we were guided by the principle that BAMSL's Executive Board should be, to the extent possible, qualified and representative of the diverse elements of the Association's membership including, but not limited to, age, race, gender, sexual orientation, disability, geography, and areas and types of practice. We believe our recommended slate of candidates is reflective of that.

Following the interview process and vetting of the candidates, the following recommendations are submitted by the Nominating Committee for 2018-19 elections:

2018-19 President-Elect — Sara Neill

2018-19 Vice President — Hon. Glenn Norton

2018-19 Secretary — Hon. Carol Jackson

2018-19 Treasurer — Apollo Carey

ABA Delegate — Hon. Jason Sengheiser

President-Elect John G. Simon will assume Presidency on May 1, 2018

 Respectfully submitted,
E. Richard Webber
Chair, BAMSL Nominating Committee


Thank you to our Sustaining Partners. Learn more at